Blueberry Muffins

It’s been forever and a day since I’ve picked up this blog to add some content. It doesn’t make much sense since I’ve been home bound for the most part and definitely cooking more. I find myself between a rock and a hard place with wanting to make and bake drool worthy recipes with full fat butter and oil and make endless baked goods to pass the time in quarantine and not gain 20+ pounds during hibernation. I’ve try to balance my act with experimenting along with everyone else in the country by making artisinal sourdough dough bread. As I am typing this now, my sourdough starter is dead in my fridge. I am also trying to find unique meals that everyone in the house will eat. Shortages of baking supplies and caps on proteins have also proven to be challenging.

School is done after a very challenging 3 months so I am in teacher summer mode now, except still staying mostly home bound. My CSA started last month, so I have been trying to make recipes that are focused on what I bring home weekly in my share. Last week I made garlic scape pesto with my garlic scapes, grilled Caesar salad with my romaine lettuce and baked up some blueberry muffins with my blueberries this morning.

a little lemon zest adds nice brightness.

Nothing mind blowing about these muffins. It’s a fairly classic recipe from Ina Garten. It comes together pretty easily. No mixer required. Just a fork and a spatula to fold in the blueberries. It did call for buttermilk which I did not have available, so I made my own with vinegar and milk. I added some sanding sugar to the tops of my muffins for some added crunch and sparkle. They were easy to whip up and in less than 40 minutes we had muffins.

Hope everyone is safe, healthy and wearing the damn mask.

Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 4 tablespoons butter (melted and cooled)
  • 1 extra large egg
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • sanding sugar
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with 12 paper liners. 
  2. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl and mix together. In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk, butter, lemon zest, and eggs. Make a hole in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix with a fork just until blended. Fold the blueberries into the batter. Don’t over mix! With a standard ice-cream scoop or large spoon, scoop the batter into the prepared cups, filling them almost full. 
  3. Bake the muffins for 20 to 25 minutes, until golden brown.

Makes 12 muffins

Ina Garten, 2012

Leave a comment